Warm Vacation

fake

King of Spammers
15 Year Member
Hullo.

I have zero experience with vacations outside of New England and NYC. Does anyone know an island location where I could go that will be warm and sunny in October, and is off the East Coast or in the Caribbean? What I'm nervous about is seeing a place online that looks great, but then showing up and it's a dump.

terry.330

Time? Astonishing!
20 Year Member
If you go to the Caribbean unless you stay at a resort it's a real crap shoot. Even if you do find a nice spot through ABNB or whatever you can easily end up in a shanty town if you walk 5 minutes in any direction. Also everything there is expensive as fuck.

wyo

King of Spammers
10 Year Member
Bear in mind October is still hurricane season in the Caribbean. That being said, have you considered the Florida Keys?

NeoSneth

Ned's Ninja Academy Dropout
20 Year Member
Honestly, We do to Cancun when we want to check those boxes. Anything on an Island is overpriced and far more abusive. Cancun has everything you want in a vacation, and it's cheaper than the other options. We do Mexico almost once a year. Highly recommend.

StevenK

ng.com SFII tournament winner 2002-2023
10 Year Member
If you go to the Caribbean unless you stay at a resort it's a real crap shoot. Even if you do find a nice spot through ABNB or whatever you can easily end up in a shanty town if you walk 5 minutes in any direction. Also everything there is expensive as fuck.
That surprises me (never been to the Caribbean), how do the people in the shanty towns afford to live? Is there a locals/tourist dual pricing thing going on?

fake

King of Spammers
15 Year Member
Bear in mind October is still hurricane season in the Caribbean. That being said, have you considered the Florida Keys?
Yeah, I was wondering about the Keys. I don't know much about them though. For some reason I feel like they're the Long Island of the South?

wyo

King of Spammers
10 Year Member