Tonight I started my new homebrew project...

Johnny16Bit

Galford's Armourer
Once that's done I can look at the sound. The guy doing the Amiga port based on my core has already started ripping sounds that I should be able to use. But I will have to come up to speed with sound on the Neo Geo as I've never done it before. IIUC it's a matter of taking a well known driver and hacking that?!? Or maybe there's a suitable driver with source in the homebrew community? Would appreciate any pointers in that regard!

Deflemask now supports the Neo Geo. But if you don't want to go with tracker music, you can just rip the original tracks and play them as adpcm.
Check out Blastar's NGFX sound builder. Good luck, I'm looking forward to this! :beer:

tcdev

NEST Puppet
Another quick update. Code audit is going well; 3/4 of the way through MAIN ROM now and SUB ROM shouldn't take very long either. I've fixed a few long-standing gameplay bugs in the last few days. I've just implemented high score load/save from BRAM and Memory Card. Still a couple of bugs left but getting close now. Sound still not even looked at yet on my end.

The Amiga port is progressing well. Two tilemap layers (one scrolling), 64 sprites and 128 CLUTs is a pretty tall ask for the Amiga. It has involved some palette reduction and that's still WIP, but is looking very promising. It's a little glitchy but playable. I might even have an option to use the Amiga palette in the Neo Geo version just for shits and giggles?!?

tcdev

NEST Puppet
A significant day marking the completion of the transcode 'audit' and another transcode bug fixed. Only 3 more known 'bugs' - 2 of which I am yet to confirm (still) exist - and the transcode is done and dusted!