Chipped PS2 Help

Neo Alec

Ned's Ninja Academy Dropout
20 Year Member
I have a chipped PS2 that I bought in the mid-2000's, so I'm assuming it has an outdated modchip in it. It seems to work because I can still load CD games from any region. I don't know how to make burned discs work on it, although I remember successfully running Beats of Rage from a CDR way back in the day. I just replaced the lens a couple of months ago, but already it's stopped reading DVD's again, but that's not the main point of this post.

I'm trying to capture footage of Silpheed the Lost Planet, and I'd like it to be 480p so I don't look like a complete noob. I've the Japanese version of the game, and it doesn't seem to have any way to force 480p built-in. I tried pressing X or start rapidly at boot, but of course it's not working. The claim from this page seems dubious, and may not work on the Japanese release of the game:

Now I'm trying to boot GS Mode Selector (GSM) from a CD. I tried making an ISO of GSM using cdgen, but I must have done something wrong because the system just says it's not a valid PS2 disc.

I promised footage of this game within a day or so. What's the fastest way to grab 480p footage of the game?

Burning Fight!!

NIS America fan & Rent Free tenant
10 Year Member
By having a working PS2... or just running it off PCSX2. GSM is pretty solid and has great compatibility rates with games when forcing 480p (now 720p/1080i... not so much).

You could softmod your console with FreeMCBoot/FreeHDBoot through the PS2 Network Adapter or a preconfigured memory card, then run the game via Open PS2 Loader (which has GSM built-in) or just use it to run the GSM *.elf directly for playing with the actual game disc.

SpamYouToDeath

I asked for a, Custom Rank and, Learned My Lesson.
15 Year Member