Desoldering gun

DNSDies

I LOVE HILLARY CLINTON!
I've been using a Hakko 808 for the past 3 years and it's a champ.
It's a shame to see it's been discontinued.
The FR300 is a replacement for it.

I can't speak to it personally, but the 808 is great.

Last edited:

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
I do high volume so that might be my problem that makes it have so many problems. If I were to use it only casually then I think it would be fine.

Joneo

Belnar Institute Student
I've been using a Hakko 808 for the past 3 years and it's a champ.
It's a shame to see it's been discontinued.
The FR300 is a replacement for it.

I can't speak to it personally, but the 808 is great.

I use the FR300 myself and love it! Supposedly it has better suction than the 808 as well as a longer cord and built-in power switch. I think it would still be wise to invest in some chip-quick if you're doing surface mount or plated-through desoldering, but it's a great tool for sure.

aha2940

AH, A, COLUMBIAN!,
I use a plastic desoldering pump that costed me like $2. It's fine for my little needs though:

I1279075915.jpg

mainman

CPS2 Person.,
20 Year Member
Looking to pick up a desoldering gun and was wondering if anyone had any experience with this one,
http://www.amazon.com/Aoyue-Digital...=1430404068&sr=8-2&keywords=hakko+desoldering

The reviews seem great on it. I was going to do a Hakko FR300 but a lot of people are complaining about the heating element dying. I know Xian had issues with the Edit: 808 so not sure if I want to go that route.

I have a aoyue desoldering station and it eats through tips like candy after about 30 joints. You will be spending a fortune for tips and that's erched in stone.

It's because of this is why I use a hakko 474 that I salvaged from my job recycling bin as my primary gun now.

grendelrt

Super Spy Agent