Learn how to solder...from me lol

awbacon

Kyokughen Trainee
10 Year Member

Note : I am not an engineer. I am a filmmaker. So yeah...remember that lol

But seriously every mod or repair video I post I get comments like "how do I learn how to solder" or "I wish I knew how to solder".

Well...it's dumb easy. If I can do it...anyone can! So I am leaving this here in case anyone wants to learn. Oh and remember...burnt flesh smells like porkchops!

yagamikun

Art of Typing Wiz
20 Year Member
Thanks for this! I'll be watching later this weekend for some tips. I can solder, but not much more than changing a lithium battery in an old cart. Arcade collecting pretty much demands that you have some skill in this area, so I know I need to brush up. Cheers!

awbacon

Kyokughen Trainee
10 Year Member
Thanks for this! I'll be watching later this weekend for some tips. I can solder, but not much more than changing a lithium battery in an old cart. Arcade collecting pretty much demands that you have some skill in this area, so I know I need to brush up. Cheers!
happy to make them! I enjoy teaching people shit

Neo Alec

Ned's Ninja Academy Dropout
20 Year Member
Very good advice in this video. I have a fan that sucks the fumes into a filter. I've only ever bought lead-free solder though, which might cause issues with my soldering quality.

I've tried to buy the tips that Voultar recommends, but I always end up with the wrong kind when it arrives in the mail. I'm still using cone tips for everything, and it's what I'm used to. I'm also bad at buying the right flux -- the one I have now is too hard, and isn't nice and viscous like the one I used to have. I don't know how to buy the correct one. I might try this one next: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00425FUW2/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8