Programmers

SudoShinji

Zero's Tailor
Years ago I got a cert in java but I could write a statement to save my life without Google these days. I work in IT but am thinking about moving to the programming side of things as a career change. Is java still a good job market? Is there a better option?

eek

Mature's Make-up Artist
15 Year Member
Java is still pretty heavily used. If anyone does big data stuff, they usually use Hadoop and that's all written in Java.

For myself I've been trying to pivot from embedded C to web dev, learning Ruby on Rails.

bloodycelt

Chin's Bartender
Javascript/CSS for web development, back end languages change, but EVERY web site uses Javascript and CSS, and modern websites have a LOT of it. Ruby on Rails AND Java back ends have been moving more and more to JSON API Services on top of a database, and moving most of the logic to the front end.

And having a GOOD knowledge of Javascript can be hard since... its a weird language with a horrible debugger.

Though honestly if you wanted to switch over to programming, download Unity or Unreal Engine, both are free to play with, and learn that.

If you really want to get into web programming: This is the shit you have to deal with, there's a reason for the high burnout rate in the industry.

And this is how I usually feel after the daily standup:

mr_b

Windjammers Wonder
10 Year Member
I think about making the change back to the software side of things every year. My collegiate education was all programming but all of my professional work has been systems administration and consulting. The hot languages change faster than almost everything but the security side of IT.

I suffer the same quandary about what to try and focus on. You might be better off taking a few community college night programming classes just to get back into the swing of things before trying to apply. DB related stuff is always good.

SudoShinji

Zero's Tailor