Consolizing MVS, complete noob needing helps!

mannion

n00b
I am setting out consolizing this MVS I picked up because I just can't afford the games I want to play for my AES. I'd never part with my beloved AES but still.

I am in the UK and I need a little bit of help planning which mods to do and how to actually do them.

Basically I have an MV1fz motherboard which I got from eBay for £40. For a TV I have a 50" plasma which has every kind of connection, including scart. Given that I have scart available would scart be best to use, or component?

For a power supply I have found a 5V 3A plug I had spare so I will just get a socket for that to power it, I tried it on my AES and it powered it fine.

For joysticks I have 2 old style (big) AES sticks so I'll get female sockets for those to use.

I am going to try to make it look as nice as I can so I'm not going to use a Jamma harness as it's a bit messy.

Any input and guides will be GREATLY appreciated, I'll keep this thread as my little project thread showing my progress.

Cheers

Last edited:

alphagamer

Aero Fighters Flyboy
Scart is the best, because it is native RGB input, no signal conversion needed -> no quality loss.

5V 3A is fine for a one slot.

Pinouts:
jamma_pinout_engadget_howto.jpg

db15_laugh.PNG

200102_scart_2.gif

Good luck consolizing, I hope you have fun with this project.

Last edited:

mannion

n00b
Great thanks for the info I'll just go scart then.

I'll do the 5V only mod first then do the scart. I was wondering if instead of mounting a big scart socket on the motherboard I could use something more compact like a socket from a Playstation or something, can anyone recommend anything or should I just put a scart socket on?

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
You can always use a chassis mount 8 pin din socket just like on the Neo AES.

mannion

n00b
Don't know how I didn't think of that lol, I can order up an AES cable from ebay that way and make life easier.

This will do, right?