LCD's 120hz and motion blur

X

Y,
Well after 5 years my Sony 34" CRT HD set was showing its age and hesitating to start all the time, which could be very frustrating. I would have try for 20 minutes at a time hitting the power button on and off until I got lucky. I figured it was time for a new set.

I picked up a 40" Samsung 60hz set for about $800. I thought about getting a 120hz set for about $500 more. but I could not see a reason why to as video running at 120hz looks awkward to me (I know I can turn it off).

To make a long story short I popped in Megman X 6 from the PS2 collection (went through 1 -5 in a month) and as soon as I started playing I noticed that the backgrounds would smear when it scrolled. Now I knew that this was a trait of LCD's, however if there was a way to improve this it would be worth an extra $500 to me.

Will 120hz improve the blurring or am I pretty much out of luck until OLED's become mainstream?

Force

Zantetsu's Blade Sharpener
20 Year Member
Well after 5 years my Sony 34" CRT HD set was showing its age and hesitating to start all the time, which could be very frustrating. I would have try for 20 minutes at a time hitting the power button on and off until I got lucky. I figured it was time for a new set.

I picked up a 40" Samsung 60hz set for about $800. I thought about getting a 120hz set for about $500 more. but I could not see a reason why to as video running at 120hz looks awkward to me (I know I can turn it off).

To make a long story short I popped in Megman X 6 from the PS2 collection (went through 1 -5 in a month) and as soon as I started playing I noticed that the backgrounds would smear when it scrolled. Now I knew that this was a trait of LCD's, however if there was a way to improve this it would be worth an extra $500 to me.

Will 120hz improve the blurring or am I pretty much out of luck until OLED's become mainstream?