MVS 4slot Z80 jumper nest

erock

n00b
Noob here, Picked up a 4slot recently knowing it had some issues. Occasional Z80 errors, garbled/no sound.

Installed Unibios 3.3, loaded 4 carts in, skipped a Z80, no real graphic errors, all slots worked, but no sound. Started poking around the Z80 and found a decent number of jumpers... Anyone here have any ideas (just from looking at pics) as to what may have been the intent???

edit: I think a cap kit was put in as well.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_3480_a.jpg

IMG_3479_a.jpg

Last edited:

HeavyMachineGoob

My poontang misses Lenn Yang's wang
10 Year Member
The intent was probably trace repair, but that's nuts. That board should be sent to a professional.

Xian Xi

JammaNationX,
15 Year Member
It's weird seeing trace repair on the top of a board.

erock

n00b
There she is! (on under side of board)... Ok this makes more sense now... yuck. Looks like he was playing with a mini light saber too close the work bench.

IMG_3482_a.jpg

Last edited:

HeavyMachineGoob

10 Year Member
If that gouge is literally the only damage on the board, you could always reverse all the repairs on the top of the board and just patch traces under the board. The correct procedure would be to check what exactly all the old jumpers are patching exactly and see if they are related to the gouge. If there are no other repairs going on besides the gouge, then that's all you'd need to focus on.

Going by those first pictures though, it almost looks like the guy cut up some of the legs on those chips. If that's the case, I'd just replace the Z80 and SM1.

Actually, you should replace the Z80 regardless. The MVS requires a Z80A, which has a faster clock speed. Running a Z80 at Z80A speeds will cause premature chip failure.

Last edited:

erock

n00b
...reverse all the repairs
Ah- I was thinking of doing that... You sir may have convinced me.

...just replace the Z80 and SM1.
I found several Z80As online, not sure what the SM1 is (yet).