Neo Geo MVS arcade newbe questions

Ultra7350

n00b
I purchased a dedicated Neo Geo MVS 4-slot arcade. Since Im new to this arcade I had a few questions.

Is there any benefit of having the universal bios 3.2 with the 161 in 1 multi cart?

My arcade has a memory card slot. Is it used only to save high scores only? Where do you buy these memory cards?

Once a game is selected on the 4-slot board can you go back and switch to another game on a different slot? Or do you have to wait until the game is finished before you choose a different slot?

Kid Panda

The Chinese Kid
My arcade has a memory card slot. Is it used only to save high scores only? Where do you buy these memory cards?

You can purchase them on ebay or here when they come up for sale, it's not just for high scores but game progress as well in most games.
They also work in the home AES system as well, so it was you carrying around your progress on Neo hardware in general.

Once a game is selected on the 4-slot board can you go back and switch to another game on a different slot? Or do you have to wait until the game is finished before you choose a different slot?

During gameplay you cannot switch games if that's what you're asking. After a game is over or in attract mode you can switch slots using the game select button.

Last edited:

Electric Grave

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
15 Year Member
All this info and lots more can be found with little research, google is your friend.

s. k. technique

Kuroko's Training Dummy
15 Year Member
Sounds like you got a nice setup there with a memory card too. I think the uni bios is a must have, it will allow you to change your region, uncensor some games, unlock characters (although the 161 - 1 has loads of hacked roms), use AES mode. The other cool feature is when you bring up the menu, it pauses the game which is handy when you need a break. Your 4 slot is socketed too, so its a simple plug and play install.

ScarletSpeedstr

War Room Troll