AES - Scart Questions

Iconoclast12

New Challenger
Okay, so i’m no newbie when it comes to video ouputs, resolutions, aspect ratios and the like.. But i’m not very familiar with scart. I know of RF, composite, component, s-video, displayport, vga, dvi and hdmi..

Every TV, receiver, and any other device i’ve ever owned over the years has used one of those, but not once in my life have I seen a scart connector on anything..

I hate to sound ignorant, but if you do the rgb mod and go with a scart cable for the neo…what does the other end plug into exactly? I’m talking the rectangular end.

ggallegos1

Cholecystectomy Required.,
10 Year Member
Some sort of upscaler. SCART is a Euro or JP connection type, so upscaler make it so that a modern TV can use it.

kernow

The Goob Hunter
20 Year Member
I've used an ossc for years. I'd quite like it if it wasn't a scart shaped connector tbh but oh well

kernow

The Goob Hunter
20 Year Member
Get a broadcast monitor or one with scart I guess

Reactions: wyo

ggallegos1

10 Year Member
You can get upscaler that can adapt SCART to component or composite, i used one on a CRT for some time before moving and it works as advertised. The RGB2COMP comes to mind

Neo Alec

Warrior of the Innanet
20 Year Member
What if I wanted to use it on a CRT and not an lcd/led style tv?
American TV's don't have scart inputs. The TV needs to be modded, or just use a scart to component converter. Professional monitors are another option, but quite pricey now.

kernow

The Goob Hunter
20 Year Member
I couldn't handle the embarrassment if someone saw a crt in my place nowadays. I'd rather have a real doll sat on the sofa

SignOfGoob

Butthurt Enthusiast
20 Year Member
The video format you are aiming for is RGB. “SCART” is an obsolete connector type that often provides RGB. If you don’t have a single SCART device then it wouldn’t make any sense to use that connector at any point.

Verdict: cart before horse.

Iconoclast12

New Challenger