Anime noob here, any suggestions?

ProfessorFrink

Crossed Swords Squire
I recently picked up the new Gungrave DVD--I'm digging it. Since I'm an anime noob :emb: , I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions for other animes of this style that I might enjoy.

I've also got The Animatrix and Spawn (if those don't count, I know they're close) so you can probably see a pattern already. I only mention this because I know that asking about anime is similar to asking about videogames--there are many different flavors. (Please, no teenage girl/ fairy suggestions, I'm not interested. Robots/ mechanical designs are difinitely good though. :D )

I know that Akira is basically a classic (that'll probably be my next anime), but after that, I'm lost.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Now Loading

Pao Pao Cafe Waiter
Cowboy Bebop and Akira are absolute musts. And if you want to be a real anime fan, it would do you good to see Evangelion. Just so know what everyone's talking about when it comes up. And it will.

slerch666

updyke,
DashK said:
INITIAL D ^___________^
The only time I'll EVER recommend a bootleg over the legit release. Don't buy TokyoPoop's release of Initial D.

As far as Anime you'll like, check out Hellsing. I watched Gungrave today and it was reminding me of Hellsing.

Ninja Scroll the MOVIE, not, not, not the TV series. You may enjoy the TV series, I can't say that I'm thrilled with it, but the movie is TOP QUALITY stuff. Rent the TV series to see if you'd like it, as I'd never recommend that to anyone as it's merely so-so.

2 other movies to check out are Vampire Hunter D and the 'sequel' Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust.

When you say "Robots/ mechanical designs are difinitely good though", do you mean super robots (think Mazinger/Tranzor Z) or do you mean 'normal' robots (think Gundam or if you need an American equivalent, ExoSquad). They are 2 usually distinct genres and if you hate one type I'd be sure to NOT recommend that type. :D