Homeschool Thread: What's it look like at your house?

NGT

J. M Club, ,
20 Year Member
Wondering what your homeschool situation for your kids looks like. My wife and I are both at home, so it's a little easier, but I'm trying to get a better understanding of what it looks like for others.

My son's teacher wants a full day schedule with breaks, P.E., etc.. I told her that it didn't work for us to do it that way. She didn't like it much, lol.

We get up at 7:30, eat breakfast, and knock out all of the work by 10:30. Then I need to do my own stuff for work. I'm a teacher, so I have everything on my plate that she does, but her kids are in high school, so she doesn't really know what I'm going through right now, lol.

My kids both have work packets and Zoom meetings etc. His teacher had a meeting with him in a small group today, read a book, and asked them questions etc.. My son has Dreambox online for math too.

My class has packets, assignments on my Padlet page, and Friday small group Zoom meetings. I'm sure I'll add some more to the list, but I'm figuring it out as we go. We have Raz-Kids, Lexia, and GetEpic. Rosetta Stone for newcomers too.

So, who's doing home school? What's it look like? Accountability piece? Packets? Online sites? Resources that your kids school uses?

StevenK

ng.com SFII tournament winner 2002-2023
10 Year Member
We're attempting it but I can see it's largely futile. I'm not a teacher and have had zero training in teaching. Imagine if your local garage shut down, would you just have a go at changing a gearbox? It's absurd.

Keep them reading, keep reading to them just to keep the imagination working and above all else keep the fuckers running, jumping and kicking a ball.

NGT

J. M Club, ,
20 Year Member
We're attempting it but I can see it's largely futile. I'm not a teacher and have had zero training in teaching. Imagine if your local garage shut down, would you just have a go at changing a gearbox? It's absurd.