Unico Jamma Candy Cabs

NeoCverA

RevQuixo. Who He?,
20 Year Member
I probably missed this, but it's mentioned you could drop in a console like a dreamcast. How would the control panel hook up to an older system like that? Would the user need to source their own dreamcast/jamma converter?

There's one coin slot. How does a coin get attributed to player 2 rather than player 1?
The monitor has hdmi and vga inputs - controls would require additional adapters like something from Brook.

NeoCverA

RevQuixo. Who He?,
20 Year Member
I have no experience with candy cabs other than looking at pictures online. What's the convention in Japanese arcades for accommodating older games that want a dedicated separate p2 input for p2 coin?
I think it’s based on honor system if you start a game on some else’s coins - you get the shank. Japanese cabinets had a single coin slot in the control panel.

Ajax

way more american than wyo, way more
15 Year Member
Lynx, all the time you lived in Japan, you never went to a game center?

Both sides are wired up to the coin mech, that’s all.

sirlynxalot

Vanessa's Drinking Buddy
Fagit of the Year
Lynx, all the time you lived in Japan, you never went to a game center?

Both sides are wired up to the coin mech, that’s all.
So one coin will effectively give you two credits? That doesn't sound right from an operator perspective.

I found an old thread here on this topic. Was very interesting to read the responses both from an information standpoint and a lack of trolling standpoint. https://www.neo-geo.com/forums/index.php?threads/how-do-i-play-2-players-on-a-candy-cab.102234/

Ajax

15 Year Member
No, one coin == one credit typically and you can join on either 1P or 2P side.

You can adjust the number of coins required for 1 credit and the number of credits a coin gives the player in the test menu for most games. But why are we even talking about this in this level of detail? 🤔

Last edited:

sirlynxalot

Vanessa's Drinking Buddy
Fagit of the Year